Do you Still Love your Husband?

RLIT1090_valentine_greeting_800px

When we are dating or courting our future husband, we pretty much make them feel like they are kings. We do things that we would never do otherwise. Once, when my husband and I were getting to know each other better, he asked me to swim down this canal of a lake. As we got further back, it was covered in green slim which attached to our skin and it was gross. Sea weed was all over me. Thinking about makes me cringe. But I did it to woo my husband. And I got him in the end, so I guess it worked.

At courtship and the beginning of marriage, we complement and giggle but as time goes by it’s not all fluff and fun. There are bills, and sickness, and kids, and life can get crazy. Sometimes marriage seems a burden. I’ve talked with several women who find that their one burden in life is their husband. But I can guarantee you it didn’t start off that way for them. It was a gradual process away from love into mediocrity, bitterness, and boredom.

If this describes you, then it’s high time to reconnect. Remember the things you love about them and write it down. Whether you want to or not, write a love letter to your husband. Stuff it in their lunch or wallet, or just hand it to them. Make it fun and romantic. Put some sauciness in there too.  🙂

Seriously, do this for your husband, and if not for them then for the Lord. He wants you to love your husband the way you are called to love Him.  Even if you think your husband is flawed, you can still love him. My husband isn’t perfect. But I’m not either. None of us are. Don’t just sit around, take initiative and write your “Babe” or “Honey” a letter about all the things you love about him. It’ll only take 10 minutes and might mean the world to him, as well as rekindle your love and appreciation for your man.

“Above All, Love Each Other Deeply, Because Love Covers Over A Multitude Of Sins.” – 1 Peter 4:8

“A wife of noble character is her husband’s crown, but a disgraceful wife is like decay in his bones.” Proverbs 12:4

One thought on “Do you Still Love your Husband?

Leave a Reply

